Cumann Seandalaiochta agus Staire Phort Lairge

Wednesday, December 1, 2010

Lecture on Ardnacrusha cancelled

Due to the severe weather conditions, it has been decided to cancel the lecture planned for Friday 3rd December 2010. The launch of the exhibition due to take place this evening (1st December) in the City Library has also been cancelled.

WAHS - Programme of Events 2011

Spring lectures
at Waterford Museum of Treasures, Hanover Street, 8 pm.

Friday 28th January: Ms Alice McDermott, Bridget Redmond:The Keeper of the Redmondite Flame in Waterford.

Friday 25th February: Mr Dave Pollock, Excavations at Egan’s / Penney’s – Waterford City Centre.

Friday 25th March: Mr Eddie Synnott, The Campile Bombing: An Accident or Deliberate Bombing in a Neutral Country?

Thursday 31st March: Annual General Meeting, followed by a short lecture on a topic of interest.

Friday 29th April: Mr Míchéal O hAodha, Faction Fighting – Munster Area.

Summer Outings

Thursday 2nd June: Visit Portlaw Heritage Centre, with guides Mr Ger Crotty and Mr Willie Power. Meet at the Heritage Centre, The Square, Portlaw, 7.15 pm.

Sunday 19th June: From Prehistoric Knowth to the Battle – Coach Trip to the Boyne Valley with guide Dr Pat McCarthy. Details to be announced at a later date.

Sunday 10th July: Trip to the Hook Peninsula, including guided tour of Fethard Castle, Churchtown Church, and Hook Lighthouse, with guide Mr Ben Murtagh. Meet in Ballyhack, Co Wexford, at 2.30 pm.

Thursday 28th July: Visit Dunhill Castle and surrounding area, with guide Julian Walton. Meet 7.15 pm near the bridge over the Anne River, below the castle.

Autumn/Winter Lectures

Friday 23rd September: Ms Orla Scully, MA, Recent Excavations in the Viking Triangle, Waterford City Centre.

Friday 28th October: Dr Pat McCarthy, Gun Running in Waterford, 1921.

Friday 25th November: Mr Willie Fraher, ‘The Bad Times’ The War of Independence and the Big Houses in Co Waterford.

Sunday 27th November: Society Annual Lunch. Details beforehand.

The Waterford Archaeological and Historical Society, Ireland.
Website By: Deise Design